MEDIA RELEASE: National Smart Cities Awards Program Announces Jury and Award Categories

Wed, 2018-04-11 10:16 -- Adam Beck

Australia's first dedicated smart cities awards program continues to build momentum with the announcement of the Awards Jury and the award categories today. Smart Cities Council Australia New Zealand (SCCANZ) announced in 2017 its intention to facilitate the awards program, with the reception now confirmed to be hosted during Smart Cities Week in Sydney on Tuesday 30th October 2018.

"We are delighted to announce our awards Jury today, which includes a group of industry leaders representing government, the private sector and leading industry bodies, said Adam Beck, Executive Director of SCCANZ. Beck continued, saying "under the stewardship of the awards program Chair, David Singleton AM, I am confident that this panel of leaders will perform their duties with the utmost level of integrity and professionalism.”

The Jury comprises David Singleton AM (Non-executive Director, Chairman and Advisor), Johanna Pitman (Program Director City Connect, BlueChilli), Eamon Waterford (Acting Chief Executive Officer, Committee for Sydney), Meredith Hodgman (Executive Officer Client Group, Austrade), Amanda Newbery (Managing Director, Articulous), Brook Dixon (President, Australian Smart Communities Association) and Janine Griffiths (Managing Director, Accenture).

Also announced today were the award categories, which include the following nine categories:

  • Digital City Services
  • Smart Cities Strategy
  • Built and Natural Environment
  • Social Impact and Compassion
  • Research and Innovation
  • International Excellence
  • Regional Leadership
  • Leadership City
  • Smart Cities Leader – (Government, Industry and Future Leader)

The categories launched for 2018 seek to recognise leadership and excellence across a range of sectors and topics, including feature categories such as ‘International Excellence’ and ‘Regional Leadership’. Recognising individual leadership efforts across government, industry and our young practitioners is also represented in the awards. Submissions to the awards will open on 24th April 2018.

“As Australia’s only dedicated smart cities awards program, we are excited by this inaugural round of award categories that will capture and recognise the amazing smart cities work underway in the region, and we look forward to building on the program year-on-year,” Beck says.